Is Sushi Gluten-Free?

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you want to be on the lookout for gluten hiding in unexpected places. Indeed, some people will go to a sushi restaurant, not expecting that there would be any wheat in their meal. Unfortunately, this is not always the case. Gluten-intolerant diners should be on the lookout for the following sources of gluten in their sushi:

  • Sushi Rice: The rice used in most sushi is bonded together with a rice vinegar or rice wine that may contain gluten.
  • Imitation Crab: A lot of imitation crab is white fish that has been bound together with a wheat-based substance.
  • Sesame Seeds: Sometimes, the sesame seeds found on certain sushi rolls have been mixed with a wheat product.
  • Soy Sauce: Japanese-based soy sauces have some amount of wheat in them.
  • Cross Contaminants: It is common for sushi restaurants to serve other gluten-based dishes, and some amount of this gluten may be found on the materials used to prepare your sushi.

The good news is that I Love Sushi in Seattle makes it easy for gluten-free diners to safely enjoy this Japanese favorite. Our menu clearly labels gluten-free dishes, as well as dishes that have gluten-free options available. Talk to your server to learn more.